Tags

, , , , ,

I doubt I am introducing a shoker if I start this blog with, “I LOVE TECHNOLOGY”!!! Because, I really do.  While I would never say I live life via my iPad, I do know that I conduct it via my iPad.  I also know that if I go out somewhere and I accidently (because goodness knows it is never on purpose) leave my mobile at home – I am nervous all night long.  I literally experience withdrawal symptons – clammy hands, involuntary twitches, and even a few random checks on an imaginery hand held device just to comfort me.  I once bought a pre-paid / disposable phone just to deal with the lack of a device for a week.  I suspect someone is reading this and thinking, “Jerilyn – you need help”.

Along those lines, this morning I was greated by two separate bloggers penning articles about the same topic that literally gave me the shivers.  One blogger was writing about the ever growing ubiquity of mobile and how it will soon be impossible to separat the device from the person – literally.  Another blogger just posted an article about the ways that mobile can REPLACE (not enhance) the patient / doctor relationship by providing apps that provide better, more transparent, and more flexible access to healthcare related diagnostic and measurement tools.  My response – STOP THE INSANITY!

After reading the first article – I thought to myself… ok, I get it.  Probably “not me” as far as behaviors and adoptions – but then again, who knows?  The iPhone also was “not me” only a few years ago because I liked having separate devices for everything.  Now I want everything in one device / one place.  Hit me up cloud.  I do see the empowering forces of mobile – even if my fellow blogger did not.  But then I read the second article – and my heart actually stopped beating for a minute.  All I could think was – when was the last time this blogger actually sat in a room with a patient, any patient, any condition, and actually talked to them about what it is like to manage their health – to naviate the health system and all of the complexities of working with health systems, payers, doctors, pharmacies, etc. Dont worry – I wont dive into my Healthcare Strategist Pov in this blog (there is another blog already up on that one), but what I will say is this… before you give me more apps – take away at least 75% of them. And before remove take away my most trusted source of information, the doctor, find a way to humanize the app.  Because right now, Siri – albeit cool and perky – is still just that, an app.

